Celebrating 50 years of fine, rare & collectable books     1974 - 2024
Helpful links

View books in this category Modern First Editions

View books by this author WOODMAN, Richard

Return to previous page

[Nathaniel Drinkwater. The series complete.]

( Nathaniel DRINKWATER ) ( Val BIRO; Paul WRIGHT, illus. ) WOODMAN, Richard


Published: John Murray, [1981-1998]

Stock code: 48873

Price: £540.00

In the best tradition of O'Brien's Jack Aubrey/Stephen Maturin novels, Woodman's Nathaniel Drinkwater also serves in the Royal Navy during the Napoleonic Wars. The acclaimed series comprises: An Eye of the Fleet (1981); A King's Cutter (1982); A Brig of War (1983); The Bomb Vessel (1984); The Corvette (1985); 1805 (1985); Baltic Mission (1986); In Distant Waters (1988); A Private Revenge (1989); Under False Colours (1991); The Flying Squadron (1992); Beneath the Aurora (1995); The Shadow of the Eagle (1997); Ebb Tide (1998). The first four volumes take their dustwrapper artwork from illustrations in the National Marime Museum; the remaining volumes have striking wrap-around dustwrapper artwork by Val Biro (volumes five to nine) and Paul Wright (volumes ten to fourteen). A SPLENDID SET, AND VERY SCARCE IN THIS CONDITION.