Helpful links

View books in this category Mammals

View books by this author ADAMSON , Joy

Return to previous page

Born Free [with] Living Free [ with] Forever Free



Published: Collins & Harvill Press, 1960-62

Stock code: 42363

Price: £94.00

The trilogy comprises Born Free. A Lioness of Two Worlds. With Extracts from George Adamson's Letters. Preface by Lord William Percy. Foreword by Captain Charles Pitman, (ninth impression, 1960); Living Free. The Story of Elsa and her Cubs. Introduction by Sir Julian Huxley, (first edition, 1961); Forever Free. Elsa's Pride, (first edition, 1962). Bright, crisp set of George and Joy Adamson's account of their pioneering conservation project involving three generations of lions in Kenya's Serengeti in the late 1950s/early 1960s. The first volume formed the basis of James Hill's 1966 Oscar-winning movie of the same name starring husband and wife team Virginia McKenna and Bill Travers. So involved did McKenna and Travers become that they founded independently the Born Free Foundation which flourishes to this day.